ENVOYEZ-NOUS UN E-MAIL À ajan@jesuits.africa
APPELEZ-NOUS MAINTENANT (+254-20) 3884 528
DONATE TO OUR CAUSES

COACHING : NOUVEAU CONCEPT DE FORMATION DES JEUNES INTRODUIT A AJAN

2021-12-26 à 12:00 am Virtual

COACHING : NOUVEAU CONCEPT DE FORMATION DES JEUNES INTRODUIT A AJAN

Le renforcement des capacités des centres sociaux jésuites et de leurs collaborateurs en Afrique, qui interviennent contre le VIH et le SIDA et d'autres problèmes de santé, est au cœur du travail du Réseau Jésuite Africain contre le SIDA. À cet égard, pour augmenter la formation des jeunes, une nouvelle approche appelée coaching a été présentée aux directeurs et aux coordonnateurs de programme. Deux sessions de formation d'une journée ont été administrées virtuellement à plus de 80 participants provenant de divers pays d'Afrique.

The first session was conducted on April 27th, 2021 and involved participants in English-speaking countries. In attendance were 33 participants. The second one happened on 3rd May 2021 where francophone Africa was represented by 51 people. Participants on both sessions joined in from Kenya, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Central Africa Republic, and Democratic Republic of Congo. Unfortunately, AJAN members in South Sudan and Liberia missed out owing to internet connection problems.

Wanjugu Gichuru, a coach, leader, mentor, and author, facilitated the sessions. Based in Kenya, she runs a program called W.I.R.E.D which reaches women of over 23. She seeks to help them thrive in their purpose in life, have an impact in the society by bringing out the best from each one of them. In the first session, Wanjugu was assisted by Samantha Mueni, another trainer who was involved in AJAN’s assembly and training held earlier this year in Nairobi where the approach of coaching was briefly introduced.

Selon l'International Coaching Federation (ICF), une organisation qui compte des entraîneurs professionnels du monde entier, le coaching est « un partenariat avec les clients dans un processus stimulant qui les aide à maximiser leur potentiel personnel et professionnel ».

« Le coaching aide un coaché ​​à clarifier ses désirs et ses rêves et à s'approprier le processus pour atteindre ses objectifs. Un entraîneur doit offrir des encouragements et des responsabilités », a proposé Wanjugu. Elle a révélé qu'elle entraînait de manière informelle des groupes de personnes depuis plus de quatre ans maintenant, bien qu'elle ait commencé à le faire de manière professionnelle et à participer à des séances individuelles il y a environ un an et demi. Elle dit que sa motivation pour se plonger dans le coaching était après avoir réalisé que de nombreuses personnes n'atteignent normalement pas leur potentiel le plus élevé dans la vie en raison d'états d'esprit limitatifs. Par conséquent, elle s'efforce de collaborer avec le coaché ​​pour comprendre son état d'esprit et l'aider à se libérer pour devenir la meilleure version d'eux-mêmes et atteindre leur grand potentiel.

La formation a commencé par la prière que le directeur d'AJAN Fr. Ismael Matambura a dirigé suivi d'un segment d'introduction. Le coaching a ensuite été défini, et le formateur a ensuite évoqué les approches du coaching ; « directive » et « moins-directive ». Les membres ont conclu que le coaching moins directif est l'approche la plus appropriée car elle implique l'enquête, l'apprentissage et l'action. il permet à un coaché ​​de créer ses propres idées pour faire avancer sa situation. Cependant, le coaching directif suppose que le coach a de meilleures idées et convient donc lorsqu'une compétence de base doit être transférée afin qu'il y ait moins de collaboration entre le coach et le coaché.

Les principes du coaching tels que l'éthique, les limites, l'adaptabilité en termes de logistique et les meilleures pratiques de coaching ont ensuite été décortiqués. Wanjugu a permis aux membres de poser des questions après chaque brève présentation, ce qui en a fait une entreprise animée. Elle a ensuite expliqué le unicité du coaching par rapport au mentorat, au conseil et à d'autres pratiques qui peuvent parfois être confondues avec celui-ci. « Les coachs travaillent avec les clients dans un processus collaboratif. L'ordre du jour de chaque conversation est élaboré par les deux parties. En règle générale, un coach aura une expertise dans le domaine de croissance souhaité par le client. Cependant, on ne s'attend pas à ce qu'un entraîneur ait toutes les réponses, son expertise peut être diverse. Plutôt que de donner des conseils, les coachs recueillent des informations dans le processus de changement co-créé. Le travail d'un coach consiste à poser des questions à partir d'une position curieuse qui provoquera une réflexion dans une direction orientée vers la croissance. Les coachs voient leurs clients dans leur ensemble et ont les réponses à l'intérieur d'eux. . Ensemble, des chemins vers de nouvelles façons d'être au monde sont développés. Les mentors donnent des conseils basés sur leur expertise personnelle et professionnelle. Les ordres du jour des réunions sont généralement générés par les mentorés, ainsi que des questions axées sur le développement. Le mentoré profitera de la relation en choisissant de suivre le chemin du mentor vers le développement », a-t-elle expliqué.

Selon le formateur, Le coaching s'apprend en pratiquant les techniques d'écoute active, de questionnement puissant et d'excellente communication, vous pouvez appliquer le coaching dans presque toutes les équipes que ce soit avec les jeunes, au travail, etc.

Les membres ont ensuite été initiés à un autre sujet « connaissances fondamentales des jeunes et des adolescents » qui leur a permis de mieux comprendre le comportement des jeunes, les changements cérébraux et la connexion esprit-cerveau. "Les scientifiques ont prouvé que les gens peuvent changer leur cerveau avec leur esprit", a déclaré Wanjugu et a expliqué en citant les travaux d'Eric Kandel qui a remporté un prix Nobel pour ses travaux sur la mémoire humaine.

Des exercices impliquant la division de l'équipe en équipes sur zoom ont eu lieu vers la fin des sessions et les membres sont revenus pour faire des présentations. Auparavant, les membres avaient effectué un « questionnaire sur l'état d'esprit » qui leur a permis de comprendre leur état d'esprit.

Les communications d'AJAN ont en outre poussé la formatrice sur son expérience avec les représentants du centre social.

« J'ai été impressionné par la façon dont ils s'engageaient et posaient des questions, qui montraient de l'intérêt pour le matériel d'apprentissage et comment ils voulaient l'appliquer de manière pratique dans leurs espaces. Je pense aussi que ce sont des apprenants enthousiastes et très relationnels. »

Nous l'avons interrogée sur les défis les plus importants qu'elle a rencontrés en travaillant avec les jeunes. « Le plus grand défi est d'amener les jeunes à s'engager dans le processus de mentorat à long terme, mais j'ai réalisé qu'il était préférable de former une relation d'abord, car ils écouteraient alors davantage lorsqu'une relation se formerait au lieu d'une relation enseignant-élève. perspective. À l'origine, j'avais du mal à me connecter avec certains et à gagner leur attention, mais lorsque j'ai commencé à partager également mon parcours, ils ont commencé à se connecter avec moi à un niveau émotionnel et réel. J'ai également appris à utiliser des illustrations amusantes et pratiques pour leur transférer un concept et leur réponse serait formidable. »

 

Cependant, Wanjugu pense que les membres du réseau AJAN ont besoin d'une formation spécialisée supplémentaire sur le coaching pour leur permettre d'élever des entraîneurs dans leurs rangs et d'établir la pratique. « Je crois que des groupes spécialisés sont nécessaires parce que différents groupes atteignent différents jeunes avec différentes cultures. Les sessions personnalisées peuvent aider les jeunes leaders à savoir comment appliquer leurs outils dans leur contexte. Les réunions virtuelles peuvent également fonctionner si elles sont plus ciblées et avec suffisamment de temps qui leur est réservé ».

2021/12/26 00:00:00
PARTAGER C'EST AIMER

INSCRIPTION À LA NEWSLETTER

Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour recevoir des mises à jour par e-mail sur les événements en cours à AJAN Afrique.

fr_FRFrançais

EMAIL US AT ajan@jesuits.africa
CALL US NOW (+254-20) 3884 528
DONATE TO OUR CAUSES

COACHING: NEW CONCEPT FOR THE FORMATION OF YOUTHS INTRODUCED TO AJAN

2021-12-26 at 12:00 am Virtual

COACHING: NEW CONCEPT FOR THE FORMATION OF YOUTHS INTRODUCED TO AJAN

Building the capacity of Jesuit social centres and their collaborators in Africa, who intervene against HIV and AIDS and other health challenges, is right at the centre of the work of the African Jesuit AIDS Network. In this regard, to augment formation of young people, a new approach called coaching has been introduced to directors and program coordinators. Two day-long training sessions have been administered virtually to over 80 participants drawn from various countries in Africa.

The first session was conducted on April 27th, 2021 and involved participants in English-speaking countries. In attendance were 33 participants. The second one happened on 3rd May 2021 where francophone Africa was represented by 51 people. Participants on both sessions joined in from Kenya, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Central Africa Republic, and Democratic Republic of Congo. Unfortunately, AJAN members in South Sudan and Liberia missed out owing to internet connection problems.

Wanjugu Gichuru, a coach, leader, mentor, and author, facilitated the sessions. Based in Kenya, she runs a program called W.I.R.E.D which reaches women of over 23. She seeks to help them thrive in their purpose in life, have an impact in the society by bringing out the best from each one of them. In the first session, Wanjugu was assisted by Samantha Mueni, another trainer who was involved in AJAN’s assembly and training held earlier this year in Nairobi where the approach of coaching was briefly introduced.

According to the International Coaching Federation (ICF), an organization which boasts the membership of professional coaches across the world, coaching is “partnering with clients in a thought-provoking process that helps them maximize their personal and professional potential”.

“Coaching helps a coachee to clarify their desires and dreams and taking ownership of the process of getting to their goals. A coach should offer encouragement and accountability.”, offered Wanjugu. She disclosed that she has been informally coaching groups of people for over four years now, albeit she started doing it professionally and engaging in one-on-one sessions about one and half years ago. She says that her motivation to delve into coaching was after realizing that many people do not normally reach their highest potential in life because of limiting mindsets. Therefore, she endeavors to collaborate with the coachee to understand their mindset and help them to break free to become the best version of themselves and reach their great potential.

The training started with prayer which director of AJAN Fr. Ismael Matambura led followed by an introduction segment. Coaching was then defined, and the trainer went on to talk about the approaches of coaching; ‘directive’ and ‘less-directive’. Members gathered that less-directive coaching is most appropriate approach because it involves enquiry, learning and action. it enables a coachee to create own ideas to move their situation forward. However, directive coaching assumes that the coach has better ideas, and hence is suitable where a basic skill is to be transferred so that there will be less collaboration between the coach and coachee.

The principles of coaching such as ethics, boundaries, adaptability in terms of logistics, and best coaching practices were then dissected. Wanjugu allowed members to ask questions after every brief presentation was made making it a lively undertaking. She went on to explain the uniqueness of coaching as compared to mentoring, counseling, and other practices which can sometimes be confused with it. “Coaches work with clients in a collaborative process. The agenda for each conversation is developed by both parties. Typically, a coach will have expertise in the client’s desired area of growth. However, a coach is not expected to have all the answers, their expertise could be diverse. Rather than giving advice, coaches gather information in the co-created process of change. A coach’s job is to ask questions from a curious stance that will provoke thought in a growth-oriented direction. Coaches see their clients as a whole and having the answers inside of them. Together, pathways to new ways of being in the world are developed. Mentors give advice based on their personal and professional expertise. Meeting agendas are typically mentee generated, as well as development-based questions. The mentee will benefit from the relationship by choosing to follow the mentor’s path toward development”, she explained.

According to the trainer, Coaching is learnt by practicing the techniques of active listening, powerful questioning and excellent communication, you can apply coaching in almost all teams whether with youths, at work etc.

The members were then introduced to another topic “core knowledge of youths and adolescents” which gave them a richer understanding of youth behavior, brain changes and mind-brain connection. “Scientists have proven that people can change their brains with their minds”, Wanjugu offered and explained further citing the work of Eric Kandel who won a Nobel prize for his work about the human memory.

Exercises that involved the team breaking into teams on zoom happened towards end of sessions and members came back to make presentations. Earlier on members had undertaken a ‘mindset quiz’ which enabled them to understand their mindsets.

AJAN communications further prodded the trainer about her experience with the social center representatives.

I was impressed by how they would engage and ask questions, which showed interest in the learning material and how they wanted to apply it practically in their spaces. I also think they are enthusiastic learners and very relational.”

We asked her about the most significant challenges she has encountered working with young people. “The biggest challenge is getting youths to commit in the process of mentoring long-term, but I realized forming a relationship first was better because then they would listen more when there was a relationship formed instead of one from a teacher- student perspective. I originally would struggle to connect with some and earn their attention, but when I began to also share my journey, they began to connect with me on an emotional and real level. I also learnt how to use fun and practical illustrations to transfer a concept to them and their response would be great.”

 

However, Wanjugu believes that members of the AJAN Network need further specialized training on coaching to empower them to raise coaches within their ranks and establish the practice. “I believe specialized ones are in need because different groups reach different youths with different cultures. The customized sessions can help the youth leaders know how to apply their tools in their context. Virtual meetings can also work if they are more focused and with adequate time reserved for them”.

2021/12/26 00:00:00
SHARING IS CARING

NEWSLETTER SIGN-UP

Sign up now to get email updates on the current happenings at AJAN Africa.

en_USEnglish